10 days down

Well two weeks of classes has gone by. I am sitting on the bus right now stuck in horrible Boston traffic TOTALY shocked that already two weeks has come and gone. The amount I have learned is outstanding. From having never drafted in my entire life I am now drafting extremely complex pieces with ease and making stock lists with the drawings. Granted I am not a very neat and clean draftsman but I don’t think that is in my nature. I have always been a sketcher so my drafts are naturally messy looking but my info is correct and readable…just smudgy paper. Lance also gave me and a fellow classmate a huge run down on historical architectural column profile progressions which I found very interesting and is worth reading about to further your period knowledge. Chippendale has a wonderful section about it in the cabinet makers director. It also has many methods for drawing roman and Greek ogees with a compass. Speaking of compasses I bought an old set of drafting tools off Steve brown today! So cool. By the end of the day I had finished my drum table and I have moved on to my blanket chest. I started drawing the carving detail on tracing paper and I will include a photo! That’s all for now but I will post more over the weekend.

20120217-174818.jpg

20120217-174825.jpg

  1. #1 by Randy on February 17, 2012 - 11:20 pm

    Congrats on your progress!
    The “Drafting Tutorial” sounds like a great idea. I look forward to it.

    My apologies, for not posting a comment, yesterday. I can only post from my phone and it’s a hassle. My laptop has issues. Rest assured, even if I don’t comment, I AM following you on your journey.

    Enjoy your well deserved weekend!

  2. #2 by Todd on February 18, 2012 - 2:11 am

    Congratulations on doing so well. We are all living vicariously through you so please keep up the good work. Cheers

Leave a Reply

