Tool box!

Today was a major day. Started designing my tool box. It’s incredibly hard to be honest. It’s the schools staple and we only make it there under these conditions once so I want to make sure I walk away TOTALY happy with it. I am going to go with an all mahogany case and drawer faces with a maple raised panel for the lid and turned ebony pulls. Tomorrow I am going to make card board mock ups of the drawers to make sure they fit my tools ok. Also I have tons of woodworking to so finally. We started making our mallets today and they are all laminated to make the head quarter sawn so there are lots of glue ups to do!

  1. #1 by Nikki in Va on March 9, 2012 - 7:40 am

    Should a toolbox be made with such nice wood? I’ve seen some old ones that are made of less expensive wood, and sometimes painted. On the inside lid of one of them, there was a beautiful design done with hardwood veneer. Just a thought.

    • #2 by eatnbss on March 9, 2012 - 10:00 am

      We do have the option of painted poplar like you said. This isn’t for me. The tool box is a show of the things I have learned so far so I want it nice and also I have aquired some really beautiful hand tools so I want an equally beautiful case showing off dovetails and whatnot. Nothing wrong with painting it just my opinion. As for inlay we aren’t allowed to do embellishment on the tool box.
      As for the answer to the 5 7 rule question, watch on lumber jocks blog area I will be posting a tutorial of the 5 7 rule as well as hopefully intro to drafting if I can get to it! Also always follow on twitter!

  2. #3 by Todd on March 9, 2012 - 12:03 pm

    Is this tool box going to be wall hung, hand carry or a big chest? Sounds like you are pushing forward sir. Keep up the good work. Cheers

  3. #4 by Sara Quentin on March 10, 2012 - 4:34 am

    Do they provide classes for the history of furniture periods or is that just sort of incorporated into the curriculum. I ask because the North Bennet School seems to be rooted in a period of furniture design and wondering if they teach the history as separate classes or just mentioned in class lectures where it fits the topic at hand.

    • #5 by eatnbss on March 10, 2012 - 11:23 pm

      We dont have classes really. We have lectures and briefing type sessions then its pretty much all hands on with guidence from teachers. Our furniture history is constantly incorperated. And we have a library with litteraly hundreds and hundreds of books.

      As for the tool box It is a chest. Google the north bennet street tool chest to see what they look like.

Leave a comment